Nepal Entry Visa Information

Nepal Entry Visa Information Foreigners who intend to visit Nepal must hold a valid passport or any travel document equivalent to a passport issued by the government for visiting a foreign country prior to applying for a visa. All foreigners can obtain a Nepalese visa upon arrival at Kathmandu airport, or at border immigration offices (if you are entering from surface).

A. Entry

No foreigners are entitled to enter into and stay in Nepal without a valid visa. A tourist entry visa can be obtained for the following duration from the Nepalese Embassy or Consulate or other mission offices located at entry points in Nepal.

The visa can be obtained from the following immigration offices in Nepal:

• Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
• Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal)
• Birganj, Parsa (Central Nepal)
• Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border)
• Belhiya, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal)
• Jamuna, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal)
• Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal)
• Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal)

B. Entry (for Chinese citizens)

Chinese citizens are requested to apply in the Nepalese Embassy or other Nepalese diplomatic missions as there is no provision to issue a visa on arrival for them

C. Visa Fee:

Visa fee required from Nepalese diplomatic agencies and entry points.

1. US$25 or equivalent foreign currency for Tourist Visa with Multiple Entry for 15 days.
2. US$40 or equivalent foreign currency for Tourist Visa with Multiple Entry for 30 days.
3. US$100 or equivalent foreign currency for Tourist Visa with Multiple Entry for 100 days.
4. Regardless of the provision stated in points 1 and 2, tourists with a passport from South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) nations aren’t required to pay a visa for 30 days.
5. Indian nationals do not require a visa to enter into Nepal.

D. Fee required for extending a visa, or renewing a visa:

a. US$2 or equivalent Nepalese currency per day for extension.
b. Additional US$20 or equivalent Nepalese currency on visa fee as per 2(b), if Multiple Entry facility is required for the extended period.
c. If foreign visitors that have not renewed their visa and want to renew their visa, they have to pay additional Nepalese currency equivalent to US$3 on the regular visa extension fee.
d. Foreign visitors who have overstayed their visa period of 150 days without extension are required to pay the visa fee as per provision in 2(c) and punishment as per Clause 10 sub-clause 4 of immigration Act 2049.
e. Regardless of provision stated in 2(a), 15 days is counted as minimum extension period visa fee is charged accordingly. For an extension period more than 15 days, a visa fee is charged as per the provision of 2(a).
f. A tourist visa can be extended for a maximum period of 150 days in a single visa year (Dec-Jan).

Transit Visa:

A Transit Visa for one day, can be obtained from Nepal’s immigration offices at the entry points upon the production of a departure flight ticket via Tribhuvan International Airport in Nepal, by paying US$5 or equivalent convertible currency.

1. A Nepalese visa can be obtained from Nepal Embassy / Consulate Offices in your country, or upon arrival at Kathmandu airport. It is also possible to obtain the visa from other points of entries (at the border). You will need one photo each time.

2. For foreign investor’s business visa with multiple entry facility for a period of one year and five years can be obtained from the Department of Immigration on the recommendation of Department of Industry and Commerce by paying US$100 and US$250 or equivalent convertible foreign or Nepali currency.